Splore 2nd Lineup Announcement

Written by on November 8, 2017

More music goodness for Splore 2018

Splore has added a large eclectic group of international and local acts to its already impressive lineup.

Heading the announcement is bona fide UK soul legend Omar. Cited as a favourite by none other than Stevie Wonder, Erykah Badu and D’Angelo, Omar will make his NZ debut at Splore, supported by LA-based NZ musician Mark de Clive Lowe. Their show will entail Omar laying down his instantly recognisable soul vocals and keys with de Clive Lowe building layers of dancefloor beats with a drum machine, live sampling and mixes on-the-fly.

Other internationals announced include UK party provocateur, Barry Ashworth, NYC disco funk pioneer, John Morales, and one of America’s most charismatic country blues acts, The Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band.

Promising a swirling groove, rock anthems and weird tropical dance music, NZ band of the moment, Racing will make their debut performance at Splore. Plus one of New Zealand’s most vital musicians, Kody Neilson, will make his Splore debut on the Main Stage. Evolving from his current Silicon moniker, Kody’s newer work takes in Afrobeat, jazz fusion, Italo Disco and psychedelic rock while maintaining a commitment to classic songcraft and musicianship.

Fat Freddy’s Iain Gordon and Wellington VJ Mick Finn will create a sonic and visual feast from scratch late at night on Splore’s Main Stage. Their brainchild, Kuki Koori, embraces Iain’s love of machines and warm analog sounds and Mick’s love of live drawing, painting, and animation. And after a stunning album debut performance at Golden Dawn, Auckland band New Telepathics will move up to a big stage and PA at Splore. Rammed with some of NZ’s finest musicians and singers, New Telepathics’ sound embraces afrobeat, punk, dub and the avant-garde. Other local bands announced include the Raiza Biza, Hopetoun Brown, The Nukes as well as rocksteady supremos AceTones. Sixteen-year-old Josh Parker’s project Centuries will also debut in Splore’s Living Lounge.

A huge line up of DJ’s and MC’s have also been added. Including Live dance acts Clicks (Dick Johnson and Anna Coddington) and Dual, Eastern Bloc, K2K, Eddie Mac (Australia), Imagine This, Cave Circles (Riki Gooch), Logg Cabin, Dubhead, Regrooved Sound System, Ribera, Takas, Dastardly Bounder, Cian, Mr Big Stuff, Pippin, Guy Johnson, Oaariki, Jamie Newman, FJ, Hudge, Lauren Fong,  and DJ Balkanetic.

The above artists join previously announced acts Dizzee Rascal, Chronixx, Too Many Zooz, Black Milk, Ria Hall, The Nudge, Denmark’s Courtesy and Mamasnake plus Japan’s KAO=S.

Splore’s music director, John Minty, says the festival’s large line up of eclectic acts, spread over five stages, is the key to the unique experience Splorers enjoy each year.

“Most festival attendees may not be familiar with many of the acts booked. They are chosen on their charismatic performances and good musicianship. Festival goers get exposed to sounds they may not normally seek out and this adds to the extraordinary aural experience at Tapapakanga’s beachside setting”.

For more info and tickets head to splore.net

When: Friday 8am 23 February – Sunday 5pm 25 February

Where: Tapapakanga Park, Deerys Road, Orere Point



Continue reading

Current track