Splore 2022 – “Come alive and wiggle your dancing toes, it’s time to hear the music.”

Written by on September 29, 2021

SPLORE 2022’s theme and line up have been announced!

Come alive and wiggle your dancing toes, it’s time to hear the music. With an abundance of incredible home-grown talent Splore 2022 is keeping things typically eclectic.

The charismatic and soulful TEEKS will debut a festival show and Ladi6 will also bring a new show this summer to Tāpapakanga next February 25-27. The Breaks N’Brass live show featuring Ria Hall, Tali and Rubi Du will also make its New Zealand debut at Splore. Breaks N’Brass will bring a live band featuring a 10-strong brass section as it rips through 90’s hip hop and R&B classics. 

Kora will make a welcome return to Splore and a Kiwi icon, Don McGlashan will make his long overdue Splore debut.

Splore released it’s theme last Friday – Wakey Wakey E Oho. The theme inspires the imagination, to awaken and come to the party with eyes wide open. Measuring impact and sustainability has been core to the Splore kaupapa and in line with this theme of Wakey Wakey E Oho, organisers are appealing to the audience to open their peepers and recognise what festival attire like stick-on sparkly gems, plastic glitter and $2 shop costumes contribute to Aotearoa’s landfill and waterways pollution. The challenge has been laid for the audience to sparkle with positivity and good vibes instead of glitter,  and to use recycled materials for costumes that tread more lightly on the dancefloor and Splore’s home of Tāpapakanga.

This is the first of Splore’s programme announcements. Yet to be announced is the Living Lounge performance cabaret which will bring it’s usual antics. The festival will also have a programme of roving performances, where the audience can stumble across engaging performance art anywhere in the festival. Visual art will see the festival site once again dotted with colourful and interactive site specific artworks. 

Full line up annoucement
TEEKS, Kora, Ladi6, Breaks N’ Brass(feat. Ria Hall/Tali/Rubi Du), Don McGlashan, The New Loungehead, Rubi du, Rei, Anthonie Tonnon, KITA, Hipstamatics, FilthAKL, Huia, Phodiso, Wellington Sea Shanty Society, Paul Bosauder – Flamenco Project, ThoseWhoLove, Dylan C, Frank Booker, Stefaan van Leuven, Marjorie Sinclair, Clarke Gayford, Dick Johnson, Zuke, Cam Harris, Wattsson, Mac Mylo, Gabriella Gonzalez, DIMPRI, Eastern Bloc, (Halalamama) حلالاماما, Takas, Pork Crackle, Bontempo, Aw B, Lauren Gin, Hudge, Heylady, The Dastardly Bounder, Amandamania, Bobby Brazuka, Forrest Bump, Mr Big Stuff, Ugly Disco, Moondog, Miss B, Pippin, Mia Kober, Sister Rosa & Sigmund.

Current track