TURN IT UP Mixtape

Written by on April 26, 2013

‘Turn it Up! The Local Tune Of The Week is an on-air feature on Base FM and was created to showcase New Zealand’s freshest underground music. Brought to you by NZ On Air, the feature is schedule to play weekdays at 10am and 4pm, after Base Breakfast & before the different Drive Shows. To coincide with New Zealand Music Month 2013 and Base FM’s 9th Birthday, we are proud to release TURN IT UP! The Mixtape.

The brainchild of Native Tongues co-host Edgar Mahon (Eddie Numbers), this FREE double CD brings together every artists that has been showcased on Turn It Up since it launched in July 2012, and attempts to unite them all in a seamless mix! 36 tracks across 2CDs, sequenced and mixed by Base FM Program Director Dylan C, Turn It Up is a compilation exclusive to Base.

Taking in a range of different styles including reggae, drum & bass, glitch, dubstep, electronic, bass, beats, hiphop, funk and soul, this will be the first time some of these artists have appeared on a physical CD. While there is a lot of musical pollination going on in the local music scene, the 2 discs focus on a slightly different sound.


Disc 1: NATIVE TONGUES: kicks off with the Scratch22 remix of the appropriately titled “Radio” by Home Brew, and works it’s way in and around the local hiphop/beats scene with tracks by Benny Tones, Coco Solid, The Midnight Trips, Harbour City Electric, Raiza Biza, @Peace, Christoph El Truento before ending with the soul sisters Ladi6, Estere and Aaradnah.

Disc 2: INDIGINOUS DUBS: starts off on a reggae tip with Oakley ‘OG’ Grenell track “Blaze”, picks up speed with some heavy hitters form Dub Asylum, Jah Red Lion, Isreal Starr, Fat Freddys Drop, Silva MC, then taking a sharp turn into more electronic beats & bass, the mix ends on a handful of hiphop tunes from P-Money, David Dallas & Eddie Numbers.


Special thanks to NZ On Air.


01. Home Brew “Radio (Scratch 22 remix)”

02. Grooveman Spot ft Hollie Smith & Isaac Aesii “Pretending” 

03. Benny Tones ft Mara TK “Aero:soul (James Skylab refix)”

04. The Nextmen Vs Joe Dukie “Hold Me Now”

05. Coco Solid “Wow (Boston Rodriguez Shr-Edit)”

06. Kora “Last Generation”

07. Brockaflowersaurus-rex “Gotham”

08. Seva HiFi “Til I Make You Move”

09. The Midnight Trips “Life Is”

10. Harbour City Electric “Seek & Destroy”

11. JDubs ft Mister C “Better Off”

12. Raiza Biza “Pyramids”

13. @Peace “Flowers”

14. Ladi6 “Ikarus”

15. Malty Media “No Sparky”

16. Christoph El Truento “Sunflower”

17. Estere “Culture Clash”

18. Aaradnah “Cryin Like A Wolf”

01. Oakley ‘OG’ Grenell ft Rayjah 45, KPz & Aeries “Blaze”

02. Israel Starr “Foundation”

03. DJ Alias “San Francisco Bay”

04. Fat Freddys Drop “Silver & Gold”

05. Moisty Atsushi’s Rocksteady All Stars “Fire Train”

06. Dub Asylum “Ba Ba Boom (OoGuN’s Bass remix)”

07. Jah Red Lion & Dub Terminator “Never Leave Me Alone”

08. Silva MC “Coming Right Through”

09. Lips “We Don’t Have Much Time (Lewis McCallum remix)”

10. Ben Jamin ft Rachel Fraser “Lessons”

11. Jane Deezy ft INF “Everything Red”

12. Eavesdrop ft Keshia “Clear Water”

13. David Dallas “Never Let You Down”

14. The Side Steps Quintet “Day One”

15. P-Money ft Skyzoo & Havoc “Welcome To America”

16. Unmap “Somativa”

17. Eddie Numbers “Wishes”

18. The Basement Tapes “Radioactive”

Continue reading

Current track