Written by on November 10, 2014


The first of a series of collaborations set to lace Isaac Aesili‘s 2nd solo album due in 2015. ‘Chemistry’ is a new synthstrumental instrumental collaboration between soul vocalist Iva Lamkum and producer Isaac Aesili that brings dancefloor rhythmic madness together with synth funk and the sultry R&B vocals of Iva Lamkum.

Isaac Aesili is a producer, musician and DJ originally from Christchurch, New Zealand. Over the last decade he has been a member of many bands including: Solaa, Opensouls and Recloose Live.

Isaac has collaborated with Aaradhna, Ladi6, Home Brew, Electric Wire Hustle, Grooveman Spot and Julien Dyne, his session work includes Crowded House and Osunlade. As a DJ and producer Isaac fuses Soul, Funk and Electronica. His debut album ‘Eye See’ was released internationally in 2011 on Soulab. Under the artist name Karlmarx (with his brother Mark McNeill) Isaac released a sci-fi concept album ‘The Karlmarx Project’ on Melting Pot Music (MPM) in 2011. In 2012 Isaac formed Funkommunity with vocalist Rachel Fraser and released their debut album ‘Chequered Thoughts’ on MPM (EU/USA) and Wonderful Noise (Japan/Asia). The band then changed their name to Sorceress and released 2nd album ‘Dose’ in May 2014 via Wonderwheel (USA). In 2013 Isaac produced the first LatinAotearoa album and is in the final stages of mastering for the 2nd album.

Written by Isaac Aesili and Iva Lamkum
Vocals by Iva Lamkum
Produced by Isaac Aesili
Drums by Riki Gooch
Synth solo by Jonathan Crayford (Synthstrumental)
Juno 106 by Isaac Aesili
Mixed and Vocals recorded by Benny Tones @ Organik Musik Workz
Mastered by Kelly Hibbert @ Almachrome
Artwork by Anna Leyland

Release info via Loop Recordings

Turn It Up is a feature on Base FM where we showcase a new track from Aotearoa every week. Tune in weekdays at 10am and 4pm to hear this weeks top local pick.

Brought to you by NZ On Air.

Current track