Brand New Heavies and Luke Vibert to play Splore 2016

Written by on December 9, 2015


19-21 February 2016
Tapapakanga Regional Park
Splore Tickets on sale now

London-based acid jazz innovators and expert purveyors of funky grooves and soulful harmonies, The Brand New Heavies, have been added to Splore’s 2016 line up. After UK hits “Dream Come True” and “Stay This Way”, the single “Never Stop” landed on the American R&B charts, with the Heavies the first British group to accomplish such a feat with a debut single since Soul II Soul several years earlier. This will be the 7-piece UK group’s first ever show in New Zealand and they will feature original vocalist N’Dea Davenport.

Luke Vibert (aka Wagon Christ, Plug, Spac Hand Luke, Kerrier District etc) has also joined Splore’s line up. He helped redefine British electronic music in the mid nineties. By assimilating such diverse elements as hip hop beats and drum & bass into the more eccentric take on electronica he helped kick-start a virtual insurrection in sound around the world.

Also added to Splore’s February line up is exciting new French electronic music producer, Rone, Canadian beatmakers The Funkhunters, Brazilian DJ Tamenpi plus local dj’s Tommy Flowers, Bobby Brazuka, Out of Sorts (Antix), Lorica, and Jamie Newman.

SPLORE | 19-21 February 2016
Tapapakanga Regional Park
Splore Tickets on sale now

December 9th announcement
Brand New Heavies * Luke Vibert * The Funk Hunters * Rone * DJ Tamenpi
Tommy Flowers * Bobby Brazuka * Out of Sorts (Antix) * Lorica * Jamie Newman

12 November announcement
Leftfield * My Baby * Aroha + Tali * High Hoops * Joe Revell
James Chesterman * DJ Takas * Ciazzmo * Chiccoreli & MC Tali * Elementary

22 October announcement
Klangkarussell * Little Simz * Hiatus Kaiyote
Bonaparte * Ragga Twins * Dr Cat * BNegao
Troy Samuela * Weird Together (DJ set) * Eastern Bloc
DJ Lady Flic * Greg Churchill * Dylan C * The Professor
Dastardly Bounder * Russell Brown * Pippin * Don Johnson

1 October announcement
Waxahatchee * The Reverend Peyton and His Big Damned Band
The Dub Pistols * Tkay Maidza * Jordan Rakei * DJ Sarah Love
Katchafire * Supervillains * Eno x Dirty * Tipene * Race Banyon

June Announcement
The Cuban Brothers * The Correspondents

Current track